How close is too close?

echo closeup

I’m all for close ups of wildlife but this is ridiculous! Echo the Lyrebird loves to get up close and personal with anyone trying to take his photo. Not only did he stick his head right inside the lens hood, he also grabbed onto the camera with his foot, the result – a scratched filter and slightly muddy lens hood. I wasn’t prepared to let him get this close to my camera but he did try to open my bag to check out if there was anything good inside.

echo the lyrebird

The lyrebird can imitate almost any sound and they have been recorded mimicking human sounds such as chainsaws, car engines and car alarms, fire alarms, rifle-shots, camera shutters, dogs barking, crying babies, music, mobile phones, and even the human voice. However, this is fairly unusual and it is more common for them to mimic the song of other birds.

2 thoughts on “How close is too close?

  1. photosbykirstyb

    I was with another photographer and luckily for me, it was her equipment not mine! She knew that he had form for this type of behaviour so I don’t think she was particularly surprised. I certainly wasn’t going to let him that close to my camera, I couldn’t afford to replace it. đŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

